Introduction to English 102 (English Composition II)

Welcome to our course’s English blog, where you will complete the discussion board assignments. In addition to posting your own responses to prompts to the reading, you will also be commenting on your peers’ posts. By sharing your thoughts in a public forum, you will be able to get a better idea of the reading in this course. Don’t be fooled … the reading is this course will be tough. But working with others will make it much easier to handle.

Directions:

First, click “Leave a comment.” Please introduce yourself by telling us your name, section number (010, 015, or N75), major field of study at GTech and why you chose it, favorite book and why, and favorite film and why. Then tell us what you hope to learn from this course.

**Write your response in Word doc and proofread it before posting. You may then copy and paste it into the reply box.

Length: Paragraph/Due date: 20 January 2012

For example (and yes, this is about me!):

Hi everyone! My name is Dev Bose, and I am your instructor for ENG 102, sections 010, 015, and N75. I just finished my PhD. in Rhetorics, Communication and Information Design at Clemson University last semester. I chose this area of study because I love to write and teach, and am continuing to do research in teaching composition. My favorite book at the moment is The Marriage Code by Jeffrey Eugenides because it talks about how love and romance evolve for people with bipolar disorder. My favorite film is Lost Highway because it is a detective story told in a very unique way–with cameras and Marilyn Manson! Speaking about technology, this semester I hope to learn how technology, media, and the Internet shape how we interpret classic literature.

35 thoughts on “Introduction to English 102 (English Composition II)

  1. Hello! My name is Dominique. I am in section 015. I chose psychology for my major because I am very interested in human development. My favorite book right now is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern because she flawlessly incorporated love, betrayal, magic, secrets, deception, and hope into one story and didn’t stick to the “…and everyone lived happily ever after” sort of ending that I’ve come to hate. My favorite movie is The Breakfast Club. It showed that when people of different backgrounds and interests come together, they can learn about themselves (but may not talk to each other in school on Monday, anyway). In this class, I hope to learn how to construct essays about fiction.

  2. Hey! My name is Robin Lindsey, and I am in section 110 of Engilsh 102. I spent my first semester as a Biology / Pre-Med major at The University of South Carolina. My reasoning for going to USC was not thought out very well, for one I live in the small town of Glenn Springs so actually living in Columbia was a culture shock. Glenn Springs is some where you can open your window and NOT hear police cars, ambulances and people screaming obcenities until all hours of the night. I have to admit it was great saying that Marcus Lattimore live in the same dorms as I did. For some reason I was put into the athletic dorm.

    Anyways. At Greenville Tech I am majoring in Diagnostic Medical Sonography. I think this career path will be interesting and something that I will enjoy doing. From taking Anatomy in high school I realized that I wanted to do something very simular, because that was my favortie class of all time. This career is also growing in there technologies which is somthing to look forward to.

    My favorite book for a long time now has to be “The Catcher in the Rye.” I love how this book is written, and the fact that it is so popular. I just have not read anything that I have liked more, and I have read “The Catcher in the Rye” three times.

    I can not pick my favorite movie, but lets say it is “Grease.” I have been watching that movie since I can remember even though is was rated “R”. I think what chought my attention at a young age from this movie was that it is a musical.

    Something I hope to learn from this course is to make my writings more organized.

    Sorry I had alot to say…

  3. Greetings, my name is Aris, i am Greek, and just moved in South Carolina this past summer alone. I am in section 015, and I am majoring in Electrical Engineering. My goal is to tranfer to Clemson to finish my degree. I choose to study EE because I like technology, the internet, and anything related with science. My favorite book is “48 Laws of Power”, because of the principles and teachings the book explains. By far, my favorite movie is “American History X”, because it is a very deep and harsh movie, which shows how racism starts by trying to help and soon it gets out of hand even thought one might think is doing something right for the society. It shows how a narrow thinking mind, and uneducated people can be manipulated by the stronger and smarter. I hope I learn some western world literature, and learn the teaching from the novels and associate them with my life.

  4. Hello, my name is Asa Reini and I am in ENG 102-015. I am a Charter student at Greer Middle College Charter High School and so I do not have a major field of study, but I am trying to get both my associates in arts and science before I graduate. My favorite book would be the Holy Bible because I am a Christian and believe it to be the infallible word of God, not to mention its historical and literary value. My favorite film would probably be “The Pursuit of Happyness” with Will Smith because it is an emotionally engaging story that also provides inspiration and motivation. The biggest thing I hope to learn from this course is the ability to truly grasp the important and significant features of a literary piece so that I can better delight in reading it.

    1. Hey Asa, I didn’t know you were trying for your associates in arts in sciences. That is great to know though. I have to agree, “The Pursuit of Happyness” is one of my favorite films also. You pretty much described everything I thought of the movie and I couldn’t say it any better.

  5. Hi! My name is Lauren Lockridge and I am in ENG 102-010. I do not have a major yet because I still attend high school, but my plan is to go to Lander University and have a combined major of theatre and mass communication. My favorite movie hands down is “Forrest Gump”. It is just such a classic! My favorite book is slightly harder…but I will have to go with “The Help” by Katheryn Stockett. It really opened my eyes to the racial tension that was and still is in the south. One thing that I want to take away from this class is to understand the Shakespearean Language more clearly. Because I want to major partly in theatre, understanding the language used in such famous plays would be extremely helpful.

  6. My name is Elizabeth Bishop and I am in section 015. As of right now I am getting my Associates of Arts in order to transfer to USC Upstate to get my degree in Elementary Education. I don’t have a favorite book but I like the Pretty Little Liars series because it has mystery and love. My favorite film is Happy Feet, yes the penguin movie. It makes me laugh and puts me in a good mood. By taking this class I hope to learn a way to get my point across in a paper better and just improve my writing skills.

  7. Hello fellow students and Bose, my name is Stephanie Whatley, but you can just call me “Stephanie”. My section’s number is 015 and my major field of study is Arts and Design. I plan on transferring, after the summer semester, to USC Columbia to double major in Industrial Design and Studio Art. I know that having an arts degree is almost like not having a degree at all, but I absolutely love art in all shapes and forms and am deeply passionate about crafting. But, I kinda don’t want to die alone, spending the last 20 years of my life eating my paints and sleeping between canvases, so I needed an applicable major that would suffice for finding a job. Industrial Design, I believe, will provide me steady income and be about arts related as an industrial occupation can get. It requires creativity, but confines the artist to certain limitations that I hope will force me to not only produce interesting and exciting products but be able to have an interaction aspect that will make the item produced also comfortable and logical for a customer. My favorite book is Red Dragon by Thomas Harris. This novel is the book that introduced me to the Hannibal Lecter series. The Hannibal series is gripping, its scary, intriguing and mysterious, but more than anything it is makes you rethink how and why people act on emotions and reasons. The book illuminated the inner-workings of our minds. It made me realize that everyone has an agenda and practically everything they do is an attempt to reach that finale destination. Even those of us who are considered “sane” and “normal” are capable of incredibly horrific actions.
    My favorite film is “You, Me, and Everyone We Know”, written and directed by Miranda July. This independent film is funny and emotional but written so absolutely perfectly. July shows in stunning extended stretches of no dialogue that though there are no words being said, thoughts and (more importantly to the film) emotions are being expressed. Through the directing, emphasizing moments to show us that the main character is not just recording stories of her falling in love with a perfect man, but is showing a postcard with a preprinted image of a couple at a sunset, and her expressing desire for a “happily ever after” she doesn’t believe she will ever have.
    I hope to learn to read more deeply into texts and literature by evolving themes and dissecting writing through class discussions and to also become better at expressing these kinds of things more effectively in my writing.

  8. I’m Jessica Cordell in Eng 015. My field of study is Interior Design, I chose this because I love to stage the inside of houses and play with all the different colors and themes possible. I want to give people happiness when they see what I can create.

    My all time favorite book is Jane Austin’s Pride & Prejudice. I’m a huge romantic and I can never get enough of the struggle Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy go through to realize how perfect they are for each other! I have about twenty or more “sequel” books.

    Coincidently my favorite movie is also Pride & Prejudice, the version starring Kira Knightly and Matthew Macfadyen. I don’t think I need to gush any more about how much I love this story, except to say that once I got said movie I watched it about seven times that day… and a few hundred times since! Seeing the story come to life right in front of me is a dream come true, I can almost recite the whole movie.
    ( the 6 part show is pretty awesome too)

    My goal for this class is to be able to write a good strong essay. I’ve always been confident in the middle portion, but I always get stuck on how to start and how to end.

    * Fun Fact – I love cats!

    [IMG]http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f204/mnmlovesyou666/pride_and_prejudice.jpg[/IMG]

  9. My name is Matt MacPherson, and I’m in section 010. After high school I bounced around the working world for a number of years, I found my passion for computers, which is what has led me to the CPT major. Even though I read very frequently, choosing my favorite book is easy. Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series has everything I love in a book plus an extra serving of wit, and The Truth does it as well as any other Discworld novel. It’s worth noting that if I weren’t writing this for a literature class, I would have chosen Asterios Polyp, a graphic novel that tells a story as well as any book and conveys emotions visually. Choosing a favorite movie is far more difficult. I’m going to give the glory to Scott Pilgrm vs The World because that movie is just fun to watch. Lack of transitional material aside, I don’t hope to learn anything specific from this course. I took it for no other reason than it was the next course I need to take to graduate. But don’t mistake my lack of passion for apathy; I’m an open book and ready to learn.

  10. Hey! My name is Magan Wright and I am enrolled in English 102-015. My field of study is Associate’s Degree in Arts and Sciences with a concentration in Bio-Technology. I chose this field because i am absolutely amazed by genetics themselves an hope to work with Forensics. Yeah, I know, millions of people say this simply because of NCIS. lol But, I had plans for this before that show even aired.
    My favorite book would have to be the Holy Bible because I am a Christian an in all honesty, no other book is full of the complete truth.
    My favorite film is Soul Surfer. For one, I watched this movie with my children and after all, they are my two favorite people, and this movie teaches us to never give up on our dreams and what we want to do with our life, no matter want set backs we may experience.
    And, since I have never had it before, I hope for a stronger desire to read from this class.

  11. Hello, classmates. My name is Kris Vermillion, and I am in section 015 of English 102 with Dr. Bose. I am in the University Transfer program, and I hope to transfer to South Carolina to study Political Science and History after one more year at Greenville Tech. I love to read, and so I find it hard to decide just one book to stamp as my favorite. If you don’t mind I would like to break it down by three quick categories:
    1.) Religion: D.L. Moody’s You Will Live Forever. A lot of people think God is angry and chaotic. He’s not, and this book explains it all.
    2.) Politics: A Patriot’s History of the United States. Did you know the first slave ship to arrive in the colonies came in the mid seventeenth century to Virginia only to have its captain and crew arrested and all of the “slaves” on board sent home on the colony’s dime? It’s true.
    3.) Fiction: Vince Flynn’s Transfer of Power. Terrorists capture the White House and demand attention. They get the kind they didn’t want.

    My favorite movie is Big Fish; a Tim Burton film with Ewan McGregor. A son refuses to believe his dad’s stories about his crazy life. Including his story about how he caught the biggest fish his town had ever known. It’s well worth your time, I promise.

  12. Hey guys my name is Jules Eba’a and I’m in the section 010 of English 102. I am a transfer student from Spartanburg Community College. I am majoring in computer engineering and will be transferring to Clemson University in the fall to try to get my bachelor degree. Unfortunately reading an entire has never been my thing but I do understand the importance of it in bettering myself. I love technology, and most of the time, I go online to quench my thirst for knowledge. As far as movies are concerned, I love actions and comedies, and the last movie that I watched and really enjoyed was Cowboys and Aliens; it might not be my favorite, but since that’s the last one I watched I recommend that to everyone. The title speaks for itself; the movie is about cowboys fighting aliens that invade the earth for gold. This semester I am hoping to improve my writing capabilities.

  13. Hi my name is Amy Diene and I’m in the section 010 of English 102. Im a sophmore but this is my 2nd semester at Greenville Tech. I’m majoring in Human Services once i get my associates degree i plan on going back to Lander University to my pyschology degree. My Favorite book has to be Girl Get Your Mind Right by TIonna Smalls a new upcoming author out of Brooklyn Ny. My favorite Movie is Remember the Titans. I hope to learn and understand the fundemental of writing a good essay and paper and how to better myself within vocabulary and grammar.

  14. Hi! My name is Theresa Walling. I am in Eng 102-N75. I am in the education transfer and hope to go on to a four year college to get my degree and teach elem. ed. and coach track. My favorite book would have to be Ties That Bind. It gives an insight to another culture and makes me feel blessed for what I have and who I am. My favorite movie of all times would have to be Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Yes! the one one with Gene Wilder. I am not a big fan of chocolate so that’s not the reason i love it. The movie is very up lifting and makes me smile every time I see it. I could watch it every day if my boyfriend would allow me to.I hope to learn from this class to be more studious and on top of things. i have been out of school for over a year after not doing the best of jobs. I hope to show My boyfriend’s, well I’ll claim him, ten year old that its never to late to go to school and compete with him in grades for motivation on both ends.

  15. Hello! My name is Stewart Jordan and I am taking English 102-010. I am majoring in chemical engineering and hope to transfer to Clemson University to finish my degree. I chose this field of study because I am interested in learning about how we produce our everyday chemicals and how we can improve our methods of producing them to make them more environmentally friendly. My favorite book is “Food of the Gods”, by Terence Mckenna , which explores how different plants and drugs could have played a role in human evolution. My favorite movie would have to be Forrest Gump, which I have probably seen over thirty times. I hope to walk away from this course with the ability to organize my thoughts more effectively as I am writing an essay or paper.

  16. Hi. My name is Becky Timmerman, and I’m in section N75. My field of study is Health Information Management. I am a medical transcriptionist and previously worked full time for a hospital in Spartanburg. Last spring the entire department was outsourced/offshored, leaving 22 transcriptionists out of a job, including myself. Because of this, I have decided to pursue a degree in HIM while I continue to work freelance as a transcriptionist. I’ve been out of school for a long time and am very anxious about returning, but I’m ready to face the challenge!

    My favorite books are the Harry Potter series. My daughter loved readings these books, so I decided to read them myself to see what all the fuss was about, and I was hooked. I have read the books and watched the movies several times. I especially love the last book and movie, as they unravel mysteries from the entire series and give closure and a happy ending. Another favorite movie of mine is Facing the Giants. This is an inspirational movie made by members of a Baptist church in Georgia. This movie involves football (which I love) and reminds us to never give up when facing giants in our lives. This movie always encourages and inspires me.

    As far as taking this class goes, I’ve never felt that I was a good writer, and I have a difficult time organizing my thoughts and writing effectively. Hopefully after taking this class, I will be more knowledgeable and comfortable conveying my thoughts on paper.

  17. Hi my name is Maximilian Reuter, and I’m in section 015. My major is mechanical engineering but I’m looking forward to transfer to another school that offers an Industrial engineering program. The reasons why I want to become an industrial engineer are the many different industries where they are needed.

    My favorite book is “The Pillars of the Earth” by Ken Follett. The story takes place in Great Britain during the middle ages, where a poor builder wants to build a cathedral. It is book with fictional story line but with lots of true facts about that particular time period. What fascinates me most is the realism and moral issues which are been used to create an image so much different from most medieval stories. As well as the unpredictable outcome of most situations makes “The Pillars of the Earth” my favorite book.

    My favorite movie would be a random pick out of bowl of several good movies, I like to watch more than ones. “Pulp Fiction” directed and written by Quentin Tarantino is one of them. It is an out of the ordinary movie with a mixed up time line of events that throws it in its own category. What I like most about Pulp fiction is the strange pattern of dialog with dark humor which is common for movies where Quentin Tarantino worked on.

    By the completion of this course I hope to be able to compose a text faster and in more detail. I also believe that I can improve my language by being able to use new kinds of word constellations.

  18. Hi, my name is Hugh Anderson. I’m in English 102-010. I’m majoring in Marketing, I plan on transferring to a university to further my studies. I chose this field because I’m a very sociable person and I love coming up with creative ideas for market solutions and promotion. I don’t specifically have a favorite book of choice at this moment because I read a lot! I love reading a lot of different novels by various writers. James Patterson continuously amazes me with his twists and different approaches of grasping his readers. My favorite movie is The Pursuit of Happiness, starring Will Smith. I like it because it’s so inspirational and based on a true story. It illustrated a journey from poverty to success, and taught that no matter your situation, success is available to all regardless of race, creed, or gender. This semester, I hope to gain better understanding of my readings, and hopefully become more efficient in my writing. I also want to learn more ways to be more compelling and grasp my readers from start to finish. I plan to start writing a novel in the near future and I know this course will definitely in more ways than one. I hope to meet new friends, learn, learn, and learn some more!

  19. Hello. My name is Edward Nuckolls and I am in Eng 102-010. This semester I’m taking the classes I need for an Associates of Arts. I chose this degree because I went to the Charter High School and graduated with credits suited to it. My real ambition is just to get enough jumps to become a skydiving instructor. My favorite book is B.A.S.E. 66: A Story of Fear, Fun, and Freefall by Jevto Dedijer because it’s a story of a pioneer of B.A.S.E. jumping and his entrance into the sport. I love this book because it is a firsthand account of what Jevto went through to become the 66th person in the world to successfully jump from a Bridge, Antennae, Span (bridge), and Earth (cliff). My favorite movie, both because of its plot and what the stuntmen from the movie did to advance the sport, is Ripcord. This semester I hope to learn how to write well-formed responses to stories and articles.

  20. My name is Kevin Dujardin and I am in Eng 101-N75. I have not been to school in over ten years but have decided it was time for a change. I have entered the Direct Connect Transfer program to become an elementary school teacher. I really want to be a positive male role model that kids can look up to that might not have that at home. Many of my friends think I am crazy, but it’s something I have always wanted to pursue. My favorite book is ‘Where The Wild Things Are’. As a kid, I felt as if I could really relate to the character in the story. As an adult, I think it’s amazing that so many lessons can be taught by using such a limited amount of words. My favorite movie has to be ‘Scarface’. The movie uses just about every literary theme possible to portray the ultimate rags to riches story. Something about the mob lifestyle has always intrigued me as well. I hope during this semester I am able to better arrange my thoughts and views as I try to express them on paper.

  21. Hello, my name is Kasey Durham and I am in ENG 102-N75. I am a Charter student and so I do not have a major field of study. I am taking this as a way to get dual credit as well as be able to pursue my passion for the arts during the day. For me it is difficult to say what my favorite book is because I just finished two series by the same author and I really enjoyed her writing style. So, it would be the series by Simone Elkeles. My favorite film would be The Blind Side. I think it is amazing when someone truly feels comfortable helping someone in need and making a difference in their future.

    1. This semester I hope to learn more in depth about the parts of literature, so it make some of the readings more interesting.

  22. Hello! My name is Kat Pursley. I’m in section 010. I’m a Freshman, and I spent my first semester at College of Charleston. I was a biology/pre-med major and I found that I absolutely hated it! I’m undecided now, but I’m thinking of majoring in business and then going to culinary school, and someday opening a bakery. My favorite books are the Harry Potter series. My grandma actually got me into them, and my mom and I read them together. I love that they’re so detailed and they depict a whole other world so vividly. My favorite movie will always be The Lion King. It’s a classic, and it reminds me of my childhood. As a kid I could watch it over and over and never get bored of it. During this course, I hope to improve my writing skills, and be able to write a stronger paper with less “fluff”.

  23. Why hello there! My name is Savanna Newman and I am in section 010. I’m currently a graphic design major. I’ve always love graphic arts and advertising so it seemed like the natural choice. It is hard for me to pick which book is my favorite, I own over four hundred and even more if you count e-books. I have however been in a very Great Gatsby/Old Man and the Sea kind of mood recently. The only book I know I will never like, no matter how often I give it another chance, is Wuthering Heights. Don’t get me wrong, I love to read books by any of the three Bronte sisters I just can’t stand the soap opera that is Wuthering Heights. Now, my favorite movie is with out a doubt The Princess Bride. Well, it is for the most part anyway. I’m not a fan of the kid and his grandfather because they interrupt the story. I’ve loved this movie since I was tiny and impressionable and I blame it for my hopeless romantic tendencies and my love of the word inconceivable. And finally, I hope to learn how to properly interpret poetry in this class.

  24. My name is Michael Vicas and I am in ENG 102-010. I choose to major in Accounting because I like working with numbers and organizing pretty much everything. I’ve always been good at math and my way of thinking is just organized. I cannot study in a messy place and I like the whole concept of dealing with money and making sure it balances out. I cannot say that I enjoy reading, but my favorite book is The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. I could sit here all day and I couldn’t think of my favorite movie. I’m not much of a critic when it comes to movies. I enjoy watching comedy and action movies the most. I hope to learn how to create a well organized paper in the MLA format without using any aids.

  25. My name is Cole Merck and I am in ENG-102-015. I am a mechanical engineering transfer student. I chose this path because all my life I have been involved with cars. Although Mechanical Engineering isn’t all about cars, there are multiple ways that the two paths cross. My favorite book would have to be Sword over Richmond because I inherited my dad’s love for war stories. My favorite movie is Unstoppable because it’s just overall very entertaining and kept my focus the whole way through, which is hard to do. I hope to improve my reading comprehension and still work on some of my writing skills.

  26. Hello everyone! I’m Pierce Rabon and I’m in Dr. Bose’s section 010 class. I do not exactly have a major course of study, because I am planning to transfer to a four-year university (most likely USC-Columbia) after this semester. My favorite book is probably Hatchet by Gary Paulsen. It is about a thirteen year-old boy who survives a plane crash and must survive alone in the Canadian wilderness with only a hatchet. It is probably my favorite because what middle school-aged boy didn’t fantasize about how he would handle being in that position. My favorite movie is Thirteen Days because the political climate at the height of The Cold War is just about as exciting as politics gets. What I am hoping to take away from this class is a better ability to read and think critically.

  27. Hi everyone, I’m Alex and I am in section 010 of Mr. Bose’s English 102 class. Right now my major is accounting. I thought it would be a good idea because I find it easy to understand and my aunt started off as an accountant and eventually became the president of Ace hardware. My favorite book is The Silmarillion by Tolkien as it shows how the world of Middle Earth was created and what happens before the events of the Lord of the Rings takes place. Picking my favorite movie is very difficult because I love watching movies but one of my favorites is Stir Crazy with Gene Wilder and Richard Pryor. My main goal for this class is to improve my writing skills

  28. Hey guys, my name is Brent Alexander Vogel. I’m 20 years old and at my third college. Out of high school, I got accepted into the Air Force Academy, West Point, and Annapolis, and chose to go to the Air Force Academy. I love to read and play sports, anything outdoors is a love of mine. I left the Academy to go to Winthrop University to study Sports Management, and now came here to transfer out soon. I’m in the English 2 015 section and am ready to try and write. I love the Harry Potter Series because of the action and I enjoy watching the Lord of the Ring movies because of the characters and the fantasy behind it.

    I hope to learn how to better my writing skills, seeing that I am not that good at writing. Thanks and ready for a good year

Comments are closed.